Connect with us

Email Verification



Continue Reading


Jubilation photos as 57 year old graduates from junior secondary school education




57 year old woman in jubilation after rounding off her Junior secondary examination (junior secondary school education).

More pictures:

Continue Reading


Vibrant Nigerians protest against the hate Speech Bill




These bills, Vibrant Nigerians protest against hate Speech Bill supported by the Nigerian government, represent an alarming escalation in the authorities’ attempts to censor and punish social media users for freely expressing their opinions.

The proposed National Commission for the Prohibition of Hate Speech bill, and the Protection from Internet Falsehood and Manipulation and other Related Offences bill, give authorities arbitrary powers to shut down the internet and limit access to social media, and make criticizing the government punishable with penalties of up to three years in prison.

“Social media is one of the last remaining places where Nigerians can express their opinions freely. The harassment of journalists and bloggers and the introduction of the Cyber Crimes Act have already shrunk the civic space and created a climate of fear,” said Seun Bakare, Programmes Manager Amnesty International Nigeria.

“We are urging the Nigerian authorities to drop these bills, which are open to vague and broad interpretations and impose incredibly harsh punishments simply for criticizing the authorities.”

The social media bill contains overbroad provisions that unduly restrict access to and use of social media and seems designed to gag freedom of expression. For example, section 3, which relates to the transmission of false statements of facts, contains provisions against sharing statements “likely to be prejudicial to the security of Nigeria, public safety, tranquility, public finances and friendly relations of Nigeria with other countries”. This could be easily abused to punish critics of government policies and actions, and anyone who asks difficult questions could find themselves liable for ‘diminishing public confidence in the government.’

The two bills are set to criminalize those who breach the law with punitive measures like fines and imprisonment of up to three years solely for peacefully exercising their right to freedom of expression. In the case of the “hate speech” bill, people could face life imprisonment and the death penalty.

Continue Reading


Official FULL Results Of Edo State by INEC




Official FULL Results Of Edo Governorship Election As Announced By INEC

HAPPENED ON SUNDAY: INEC’s Collation Committee announces the official results of the election from all local governments. Party agents are also present at the meeting.

Channels TV covers the exercise.

Official results of the Edo state governorship election

Read More: Nigeria Federation has officially launched the 2020-22 National Sports kits

1 Igueben LG (as announced by INEC)

APC – 5199
PDP – 7870

2 Esan North-East (as announced by INEC)

APC – 6,556
PDP – 13,579

3 Esan Central (as announced by INEC)

APC – 6,719
PDP – 10,694

Esan Central (as corrected by the INEC officer)

APC 6,719
PDP 10,794

4 Ikpoba Okha (as announced by INEC)

APC – 18,218
PDP – 41,030

5 Uhunmwonde (as announced by INEC)

APC – 5,972
PDP – 10,022

6 Egor (as announced by INEC)

APC – 10,202
PDP – 27,621

7 Owan East (as announced by INEC)

APC – 19,295
PDP – 14,762

8 Owan West (as announced by INEC)

APC – 11,193
PDP – 11,485

9 Ovia North-East (as announced by INEC)

APC – 9,907
PDP – 16,987

10 Etsako West (as announced by INEC)

APC – 26,140
PDP – 17,959

11 Esan South-East (as announced by INEC)

APC – 9,237
PDP – 10,563

12 Oredo (as announced by INEC)

APC – 18,365
PDP – 43,498

13 Esan West (as announced by INEC)

APC – 7,189
PDP – 17,434

14 Akoko Edo (as announced by INEC)

APC 22,963
PDP 20,101

15 Etsako East (as announced by INEC)

APC :17,011
PDP: 10,668

EdoDecides 2020

16 Etsako Central (as announced by INEC)

APC – 8,359
PDP – 7,478

17 Orhionmwon (as announced by INEC)

APC – 10,458
PDP – 13,445

18 Ovia South-West (as announced by INEC)

APC – 10,636
PDP – 12,659

Final Results (Official)

Obaseki – 307,955

Ize-Iyamu – 223,619

Continue Reading


Advertisement Enter ad code here


Copyright © 2019 - 2020 4connerpress Theme. Theme by MVP Themes, powered by HIEDU.